Teacher Standards and Accreditation

Accreditation is based on the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers (APST), which describes what a teacher is expected to know and be able to do across the career stages of:

  • Graduate Teacher
  • Proficient Teacher
  • Highly Accomplished Teacher
  • Lead Teacher

The APST use nationally agreed indicators of teacher quality to prepare support and develop teachers across these four career stages.

Requiring all NSW school teachers to be accredited is one of Great Teaching, Inspired Learning actions of the NSW Government to increase the high standards of teaching in NSW, and lift the status of the profession.

To start or return to working as a teacher in a NSW school, you must first be accredited by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) at the level of Provisional or Conditional.

Teachers who have worked in NSW prior to 1 October, 2004, and have not had a break from teaching in NSW of more than five years do not currently need to be accredited.

From 1 January 2018, all teachers will need to be accredited to continue, return to or start teaching in a NSW school. See the NESA website for further information about the accreditation of Pre-2004 school teachers.

Available teaching positions within the diocese can be viewed online via the Employment Opportunities page.  The teacher job application form is available on the Job Application Package page.