Sport

Sport plays an important role in primary and secondary schools in the Diocese of Broken Bay, not only through the promotion of health and well-being, but also by fostering school and diocesan spirit and the development of skills and talents.  

It provides an opportunity for participation and the development of relationships through the teaching of values such as teamwork, discipline and fair play.  Sport can empower youth and promote self-esteem.

  • "Games and Sports" is a strand of the PDHPE Syllabus concerned with developing each student's competence and confidence in a broad range of games and sports and the skills required to participate in them.
  • The representative school sport pathway enables students with gifts and talents in games and sports the opportunity to participate in specific programs devised to meet their individual needs.  It allows for ongoing identification and development of these gifts and talents.
  • The representative school sport pathway includes events in swimming, cross country and athletics for students who meet the criteria for specific categories of disability.

Each cluster organises gala days in a variety of sports.  The choice of sports offered and the age groups included is at the discretion of the particular cluster.  A school may also choose to participate in sport competitions outside the Catholic schools system.

The Diocese of Broken Bay supports a variety of sports in primary and secondary schools, providing opportunities for students to represent their schools and compete in a representative pathway beginning with cluster or diocesan competitions and trials and culminating with the possibility of state representation.

Broken Bay Diocese Cluster and Diocesan Representative Pathway Events 2020

Please direct all enquiries to your school sport coordinator.

Swimming Carnivals:

Central Coast Cluster  Monday 24 February  Tumbi Umbi - Mingara
North Shore Cluster Tuesday 3 March Hornsby
Northern Beaches Cluster Monday 2 March Warringah
Broken Bay Diocese  Tuesday 10 March (evening) Tumbi Umbi - Mingara
NSWCPS Polding Wednesday 25 March Homebush

 

Cross Country Carnivals

Central Coast Cluster Friday 27 March Kariong
North Shore Cluster Tuesday 5 May Hornsby Heights 
Northern Beaches Cluster  Wednesday 6 May  Nth Narrabeen - Rat Park
Broken Bay Diocese  Tuesday 26 May Galston – Fagan Park
NSWCPS Polding Friday 12 June Eastern Creek

               

Athletics Carnivals

Central Coast Cluster Tuesday 25 August Tumbi Umbi - Mingara  
North Shore Cluster Tuesday 18 August Narrabeen
Northern Beaches Cluster Thursday 20 August  Narrabeen 
Broken Bay Diocese    Tuesday 1 September  Narrabeen
NSWCPS Polding Friday 11 September Homebush or Newcastle

 

Team Sport Trials

All team sport trials are diocesan trials; there are no cluster trials.

Schools will provide selected students with trial details in 2020 when confirmed.

Netball  

March (Term 1) Warriewood  
Football (soccer) March (Term 1) Belrose
Hockey    March (Term 1) Wyong
AFL March (Term 1) Bateau Bay
Rugby League (11s  and open) March (Term 1) Wyong
Touch  March (Term 1) (Boys) St Ives
  March (Term 1)(Girls) Bateau Bay
Softball       Tuesday 5 May Hornsby Heights
Rugby   Term 2 - TBA  
Cricket Term 2 - TBA  
Basketball   Term 4 - TBA  
Tennis          Term 4 - TBA  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NSWCPS Polding Team Sport Trials

Basketball, Tennis                     Friday 7 February            Lismore
Cricket Friday 28 August Lismore
AFL  Wednesday 1 April          Newcastle
Rugby league, hockey, netball, football    Friday 1 May                    Bathurst
Touch     Friday 29 May Port Macquarie
Softball  Friday 19 June Wahroonga
Rugby Union   Monday 29 June Forbes
Golf      Monday 27 July Blackheath (tbc)